Dr. Lalita Thatte


  • 2009- Present: Medical Director, Port Charlotte Kidney Center2009- Present: Medical Director, Gulf Coast Dialysis Center
  • 2007-Present: Medical Director, Arcadia Dialysis Unit
  • 1996-Present: Partner in private practice, Charlotte Nephrology Associates, P.A.
  • 1994-1996: Nephrology Fellowship at the University of Miami School of Medicine and Affiliated Hospital, Miami, FL
  • 1993-1994: Private Practice: Internal Medicine
  • 1990-1993: Residency in Internal Medicine at Michael Reese Hospital Chicago, IL
  • 1980-1988: Full Time Faculty Member, Department of Medicine, Medical College of Aurangaban, India
  • 1977-1979: Residency in Internal Medicine and Psychiatry at Government Medical College, Aurangabad, India

 Training and Honors”

  • 1996: Present-Partner in private practice, Port Charlotte, FL
  • 1996: Board certified in Nephrology, Recertification in 2006
  • 1994-1996: Fellow, Nephrology Division, University of Miami School of Medicine and affiliated Hospital, Miami, FL
  • 1993: Diplomate of American Board of Internal Medicine, Recertification in 2014
  • 1980: M.D. Internal Medicine (bard certified), Marathwada University, Aurangabad, India
  • 1976: M.B.B.S., Marathwada University (undergraduate medical school diploma) Aurangabad, India
    Received the “President’s Silver Medal” from the Differing Fund


  • Thatte L, Oster Jr, Singer I, Bourgoignie, J, Fisman, LM, Roos BA. Review of the literature: Severe Hyperphosphatemia.  Am J Med Sco 1995;310;167-174
  • Thatte L, Vaamonde Ca. Drug Induced Nephrotoxicity, The Crucial Role of Risk Factors. Postgraduate Med Dec 1996 Vol 100 No 6; 83-100
  • Oster Jr, Singer I, Thatte L, Grant-Taylor I, Diego JM The Polyuria of Solute Dieresis. Arch Intern Med Vol 157, Apr 14, 1997; 721-729
  • Vaamonde Ca, Contreras G, Thatte L: The Protective effects of Procystine and Other Glutathione-Repleting Compounds in Gentamicin and Cisplatin Models of Renal Injury. Poster ASN New Orleans


Medical Records/Utilization review Committee, Fawcett Memorial Hospital, 1999
Credentials Committee,Fawcett Memorial Hospital, 2000-2001
Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee, Fawcett Memorial Hospital, 2003-2008
ICU Committee, Bayfront Health Port Charlotte, 1999-2001
Cardiopulmonary Committee, Bayfront Health Port Charlotte, 1999-2001
Credentials Committee, Bayfront Health Port Charlotte, 1998-2002
Secretary/Treasurer and Member of the Medical Executive Committee, Bayfront Health Port Charlotte, 2003-2006

Membership: AMA, ASN,RPA and Florida Society of Nephrology


  • Patients Choice Award 2010-2013
  • Compassionate Doctor Recognition 2011-2012
  • National Research Service Award